Andras Szakal
Andras Szakal (left) with The Open Group CEO Steve Nunn

Game Change Agency congratulates GCA Member Andras Szakal, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of IBM’s U.S. federal business, on being awarded the ‘Most Valuable Contributor Award for an Individual’ at The Open Group Awards. The ceremony took place on April 17, 2018.

During the event, The Open Group awarded IBM ‘Outstanding Contribution by a Member Organization’ for their Open Professionals program, Unix certification and standardization and Open Trusted Technology Provider Standard supply chain initiatives.

About Andras Szakal

Andras Szakal is currently Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of IBM U.S. Federal. He is responsible for IBM’s industry solution technology strategy in support of the U.S. Federal customer. Mr. Szakal was appointed IBM Distinguished Engineer and Director of IBM’s Federal Software Architecture team in 2005.

Before joining IBM in 1998, he was a Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff within Bell Atlantic’s (Verizon) Federal Division and Broadband Systems. Mr. Szakal is an Open Group Distinguished Certified IT Architect and a Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP).

He is Chairman of the Board of Directors of The Open Group and currently holds the chair of the Open Trusted Technology Form (OTTF) and is Vice Chair of the Open Professions Work Group.

Mr. Szakal holds undergraduate degrees in Biology and Computer Science and a Master’s Degree in Computer Science from James Madison University.

About The Open Group and The Open Group Awards

The Open Group is an international vendor- and technology-neutral consortium upon which organizations rely to lead the development of IT standards and certifications, and to provide them with access to key industry peers, suppliers and best practices. The Open Group provides guidance and an open environment in order to ensure interoperability and vendor neutrality.

With more than 550-member organizations and 40,000-member representatives around the globe, The Open Group has a diverse membership that spans all sectors of the IT community — customers, systems and solutions suppliers, tool vendors, integrators and consultants, as well as academics and researchers.

The Open Group Awards are a peer-to-peer recognition of the members, team and individuals who have made outstanding contributions to industry innovation through the development of open standards and architectural best practices. The Open Group Awards have taken place annually since 2012, with this year’s awards taking place in London, UK.

To learn more about Andras Szakal’s award and the entire award ceremony, visit The Open Group Awards blog.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here